Management Board

The Small Business Charter is governed by a Management Board comprised of academics from SBC award holding schools and entrepreneurs. Collectively, the Board governs the strategy and operations of the Small Business Charter. The role of the SBC Management Board is outlined in the Chartered Association of Business Schools’ Royal Charter.


The Lord Young of Graffham
The Rt Hon the Lord Young of Graffham CH graduated from UCL before becoming a solicitor and spent a number of years establishing successful businesses.  He served in the Cabinet from 1984 to 1989, was Executive Chairman of Cable and Wireless plc from 1990 to 1995, and thereafter Chairman of Young Associates Ltd.

Lord Young was an adviser to the Prime Minister on enterprise and the author of three reports on small business and enterprise: Make Business Your Business (May 2012), Growing Your Business (May 2013) and Enterprise for All (June 2013). 

Growing Your Business led to the creation of the Small Business Charter. Lord Young was appointed Member of the Order of the Companions of Honour (CH) in the 2015 New Year Honours.


Stuart Miller
Stuart is co-founder and CEO of ByBox, the international software and supply chain management company. Stuart led ByBox from a Silicon Valley start-up in January 2000 to a turnover of $120 million today.

Stuart is also on the Advisory Board of Loughborough University Business School, an Industry Advisor (entrepreneurship) at the Saϊd Business School, Entrepreneur in Residence at the Glendonbrook Centre and author of ‘The 7 Conundrums of an Entrepreneur’.

Vice Chairs

Rob Carroll, Director of Catapult Ventures Group

Anne Kiem, Executive Director of Small Business Charter, Chief Executive of Chartered Association of Business Schools (Ex-officio)
Professor Mark Hart, Aston University Business School
Professor Martin Binks, Nottingham University Business School
Professor Nigel Lockett, Lancaster University Management School
Professor Eleanor Shaw, Strathclyde Business School/HCE
Gemma Clarke, Chief Marketing Officer, Tangleteezer
Joe Hall, Managing Director, Hall Foods Group
Ben Wilding, Managing Director, Cameron & Wilding Ltd
Felix Mitchel, Founder and Director, Instant Impact
David Holmes, Co-founder and CEO,
Professor Simon Collinson, Chair, Chartered Association of Business Schools (Ex-officio)
Professor Angus Laing, Lancaster University Management School (Co-opted)
Dr Sarah Underwood, Vice-Chair, Enterprise Educators UK (Co-opted)